Don’t be a Tool

This is inteded to be a sub-section of my brain where I pour onto virtual paper my deepest and inner most thoughts about music and the artists who create it.  Beware…I do not carry a common or popular opinion about music in most cases and my tastes are wide and varied.  I enjoy discussing so feel free to comment with your opinions as well.

To start…I’m going to fire with both barrels and bring up the man who’s caused me a whole crap load of emotion over the years.  I’ve loved him and hated him for it…and I’m currently set pretty firmly in the “really dislike the guy” category because he’s kinda an ass.

I speak of none other than Mr. Maynard James Keenan.

MJK’s music, and most specifically the work he’s done with Tool, has always resonated very deeply with me…even to this day and even though I restrict myself from listening to his music…I often think to riffs / melodies / lyrics that come from it.  It’s been just about a year now since I’ve listened to any of his music…and it still haunts my subconcious in everything I think about.

So, what’s my beef with him?  Well, mostly how two faced I feel he is.  His music is very deep and cerebral but yet when he’s presented with millions of fans who find his art inspirational he calls them fools and losers.  I’ve heard him speak out against the establishment yet he shows that he revels in it and often trolls people while doing it.

Just as an example…years ago I remember him selling a stupid belt buckle just after he started his Puscifer music.  He fully admitted that it’s a worthless piece of junk, but that he was going to sell it for $100 each anyway just to see if people would buy it…and it sold out and he laughed at folks for doing it.  To me that’s messing with people for the sake of pointing out that they’re idiots for spending $100 on a piece of crap belt buckle…and $100 isn’t chump change to most people…it’s at least 2 – 3 tanks of gas!  My point being is that in this example I felt he was a jackass for scewing with people like that.  I over looked it for a long time until he outright called all the people that found deeper meaning (you know…his fans) in his music losers…that’s pretty much when I took all MJK music off my playlists and decided to move on to better musicians.

I’m not a loser because I felt things I “thought” he was trying to convey in his music.  He’s the loser for making fun of people who found that deeper meaning.  Intentional or not, there is very deep phylisophical meaning an intentions in the music MJK produces…and I’m sad that I won’t let myself listen to it anymore because it reminds me of the man who created it who seems to be an asshole…and I just can’t bring myself to continue supporting an asshole.  The whole experience has made me truely believe that he wasn’t just singing a sarcastic scenario in “Hooker With A Penis”, but rather a true accounting of what he’s really been doing over all these years.

Anyway…rock on readers, maybe someday I’ll run across another musician of MJK’s talent and calbre who actually is a decent fellow and not a jerk.  😉

Don’t be a Tool

Leave a Reply

